1115 Waiver & RHP7

1115 Waiver & RHP7

*Please Note* The RHP 7 website, texasregion7rhp.net, is temporarily unavailable.  You can find documentation from the February 17, 2015 Learning Collaborative event below.

Please contact Katie Coburn with requests for other documents from the RHP 7 site.  We are working to get texasregion7rhp.net back online as soon as possible!


In 2011, Texas received approval from the federal Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to operate an 1115 Medicaid Waiver known as Texas Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement Program. The program is managed by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission. The State is divided into 20 Regional Healthcare Partnerships (RHPs). Each RHP, with leadership and coordination from an Anchor entity, designs and implements a plan to transform healthcare in its geographic area.

Central Health guides healthcare transformation as the Health and Human Services Commission’s designated Anchor for RHP 7, which includes Bastrop, Caldwell, Hays, Fayette, Lee, and Travis counties.

Learn more about Central Health’s Anchor role and Region 7’s healthcare transformation projects at www.texasregion7rhp.net. Be sure to watch our eight part short documentary series highlighting the impact of the 1115 Waiver in Region 7.

More about the 1115 Transformation Waiver

There are two funding streams within the 1115 Waiver:

  1. Uncompensated Care pool (hospital payments)
  2. Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment pool (DSRIP).


DSRIP projects are intended to transform the financing and delivery of care to safety net populations while seeking to promote the Triple Aim (better care experience, better population health, lower cost.) Providers are eligible to earn financial incentives by successfully implementing healthcare transformation projects that advance the Triple Aim.

Central Health’s Roles

Not only does Central Health guide transformation as RHP 7’s Anchor, it also supports transformation by providing local matching funds for 33 Travis County DSRIP projects. Local matching funds are necessary to access federal incentive payment dollars.

Finally, Central Health also achieves transformation through the Community Care Collaborative, a non-profit healthcare organization governed jointly by Central Health and the Seton Healthcare Family.