Central Health

Health care for all.

Learn More

Rebecca Lightsey Appointed to Board

The Travis County Commissioners Court appointed Rebecca Lightsey, the executive director of Texas Appleseed, to the Central Health Board of Managers on Tuesday, March 15. Ms. Lightsey replaces Dr. Donald Patrick, who announced his retirement from the board last year.

With Texas Appleseed, Ms. Lightsey is responsible for the overall management and oversight of the organization, which according to its mission statement, promotes “social and economic justice by leveraging the skills and resources of volunteer lawyers and others to identity practical solutions to difficult systemic problems.” She is a licensed attorney, graduating from the University of Texas School of Law.

“I have been a supporter of Central Health since its formation and welcome this opportunity to serve at this critical time for health care policy & delivery. From my background representing underserved Texans and from having a long-standing interest in health care, I bring a deep understanding of the needs of those the district serves and a solid commitment to meeting those needs. I look forward to being a part of this visionary, innovative organization,” Lightsey said.

Some of her past professional positions include Executive Director of SafePlace, Colonia Program Director for the Community Resource Group, and EBT Liaison for the Comptroller of Public Accounts, among others. She is also a Collaborative Council Member for the Texas Supreme Court Permanent Judicial Commission on Children, Youth and Families. She has been honored as the 1995 Peacemaker of the Year from the Austin Dispute Resolution Center and the 1994 Texas Outstanding Public Servant.

Central Health is governed by a nine-member volunteer Board of Managers. The Austin City Council and the Travis County Commissioners Court each appoints four of the members. Both governmental bodies jointly appoint the ninth member. The initial terms of the Managers were staggered so that, as near as possible, one-fourth of the members’ terms expire each year. Reappointments and new appointments to the Board, unless fulfilling an unexpired term, serve four-year terms.